Collaboration is a very important part of working as a technical communicator, because it is part of a communicator’s job to work with groups toward a goal; it is the communicator who coordinates the group’s efforts, avoid conflict, set dialogue to compromises, and sustain positive interactions when working toward this goal. Collaboration, defined by SPTC as “an intentional, sustained interaction toward a common goal,” involves a range of factors including; interactions, people, goals, settings, tools, complexity, and perspectives. There are many possible problems with collaboration such as group members not completing their share of the work (social loafers), and disagreement about the best way to achieve a goal. This reading has added to my knowledge about professional writing by more clearly defining my role as a technical communicator in a group. This will allow me to collaborate more effectively, thereby helping my group to reach our goals in the most efficient way possible. This includes my role in producing a quality memo for Project 1, Part B with my group. This reading brought two questions to my mind. The first question is how a group dynamic will be affected if someone should have an ulterior motive, or be working toward a goal other than that of the rest of the group. I am also curious as to how collaboration would be affected in the case that two or more group member’s professional opinions contrast each other.